Back from the Dead

It’s been awhile…

Actually it’s been forever. I was pretty non-existent in 2014. I can complain about being too busy but in reality I was too embarassed to post. After reaching my goal weight of 145 lbs in 2013, the pounds found their way back in 2014. I’m not exactly sure what the damage is, I haven’t been on a scale since I came back from SCW Atlanta Mania in July. I have a general idea of being somewhere in the neighborhood of 170 lbs seeing as I am back in all of my size 10 pants. It’s quite frustrating and devastating if I really allow myself to have a pity party. But I do not whine and cry about it constantly but other than my weight, life is pretty good. I completed my 200-hr yoga training this month and I am now an official yoga teacher…I am a stable relationship with a great guy..-I’ve paid off most of my student debt from my Nutrition Degree…I finally got my own Body Pump class…things are well, just not the damn waistline.

But those that live in the past are destined to stay there. I cannot do anything about the 20 lbs or so I have gained but it’s so hard to try and get them off. I’m on week 4 of Insanity Max 30. These workouts are CRAZY but I need to get my butt kicked. I’m still in great shape because I still teach a million classes and I’ve been into kettlebells for about 6 months. I did Sarah Lurie’s DVDs for awhile and I’ve taken live kettlebell classes at a local kettlebell gym, too. I still take hot yoga classes occasional but not as much as I used to, it’s hard getting up at 4:45 am.

My diet is, as always, my biggest enemy. I got an Ayurvedic consult in October (I was typed as a Vata-Pitta, always thought I was Kapha) and I’ve considered following the plan given to me but I just haven’t been convinced that a Vata diet is the right plan. So I continue to spin wheels. I paid $130 for the consult, I really should just follow the plan, huh? Hmmm….maybe so.

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Back from the Dead

  1. Melissa says:

    What did they tell you to do? If you are a vata – pitta but your kapha is out of balance then the vata diet wouldn’t help much. There is a lighter vata diet yiu could follow as well. Just curious. :-)1

    • Kimberly says:

      I have struggled with that constantly, the diets are so different, I have not been able to find any recommendations for an overweight Vata. My Ayurvedic counselor was Katie Silcox and she just released her first book, “Happy, Healthy, Sexy”. In her book, she recommends either eating according to your dosha or eating according to the dosha “seasons”. So with that philosophy, late winter/spring is Kapha season and it’s a great time to give the Kapha diet a go.

      • Melissa says:

        I learned a lighter VATA diet when I did my nutrition intensive a few months ago. I can pull it up and share it with you if you’re interested.
        What I have been taught is that you need to treat the imbalance. So if for example you’re vata/pitta but have a Kapha imbalance you need to address that. Same thing if there’s ama.
        It’s possible to have a kapha imbalance physically (along with ama buildup) and a vata imbalance emotionally/spiritually – so the lighter diet would help there.
        Although what the practitioner you saw you would be more accurate since they did the assessment.

        About a month after I went for a consultation I wished I could go back because that was when I had more questions. The doctor I saw was in MA and I’m in VA so it wasn’t possible.

      • Kimberly says:

        If your could share that would be great. I have exhausted all of my ayurveda books and haven’t found anything useful online either.

  2. Melissa says:

    Here’s some info from my intensive on the light vata pacifying diet:

    The diet is in cases of low agni (digestive power) combined with vata constitution or vata imbalance

    Wheat: use only preparations made from finely ground whole wheat flour – crackers, toasted bread, unleavened bread (tortillas, chapati, etc), couscous, semonila
    Rice: white, organic bhasmati
    Oats: cooked with water to a light porridge

    Split mung beans or red lentils – eat a liquid dhal preparation or prepared with rice as a “soup”

    Vegetables: should be well cooked and “soupy” in preparation. eggplant, white pumpkin, zucchini, cucumber, asparagus, artichoke, tomato (no skin), celery (not root), carrot (small amounts), spinach (small amounts), green papaya

    Dairy – low fat milk, goat milk, buttermilk, lassi, ghee (in very small amounts)

    sweeteners – all except honey

    oils: all except coconut in very small amounts

    spices/condiments: cumin, ginger, fenugreek, hing, mustard seeds, black pepper (small amounts), cinnamon, cardamom, anise, fennel, cloves, salt, lemon juice, tamarind.

    Fruits: ripe and in season. Grapes, raisins (soaked and in small amounts), pomegranate, papaya, pineapple, fig, apricot (fresh), orange. No bananas.

    Hope it helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

