Low Carb Friendly Foods that Taste Good

I am developing quite an affection for Artic Zero “ice cream

“. It isn’t real ice cream; it is largely frozen whey protein. I wasn’t crazy about it when I first tried it a couple of years ago or even a few months ago when I tried the bars. But I am now on my third box of bars (chocolate/vailla) and I tried the cappucino pint today and I liked it pretty well. I ate less than a serving and a half cup serving is only 37 calories! The bars are only 85 calories. You can find low calories fudge bars in several brands (most have horrible ingredients) but not a chocolate coated ice cream bar. They either have good ingredients but a lot of fat, hence a lot of calories, or they are artificially sweetened with Splenda or Nutrasweet. Yuck! No thanks. This is exactly why I will NOT try Skinny Cow. Sucralose gets nowhere close to my mouth, nor do any of its cousins.

I have also become a fan of Greek yogurt. I prefer flavors over plain even though they have more carbs, but most brands aren’t too bad. I LOVE the Noosa brand, I think it has the best flavor; it’s some Aussie recipe with milk from local farmers. Taste like dessert so of course I like it. On the more low carb friendly front, both Oikos and Chobani have vanilla flavors with more protein than carbs.

PB2 is still awesome, especially the chocolate. I actually prefer Betty Lou’s Powdered Peanut Butter over regular PB2 because it is organic and sweetened with coconut sugar instead of the plain, white drug. Rabbit trail: I actually made some pretty good cookies with almond flour and coconut sugar a few weeks ago. It was my first time cooking with coconut sugar. I like it but I need to do some research on it to see it is really a better alternative or agave 2.0

For salty snacks, seaweed snacks are great. Seasnax and Annie Chun’sare my favorite. They are gluten-free and not all seaweed snacks are, many have soy sauce in them. My favorite flavors are the Annie Chun’s Wasabi and Seasnax Toasty Onion. They are not meant to be filling but at 16-50 calories they are a much better option than chips or nuts when I get the munchies (and I’m not really hungry) or I need a salt fix.

And finally my new favorite milk for all my protein shakes (the current favorite is Bluebonnet Whey Protein-grassfed and very tasty) is Good Karma Unsweetened Flax Milk. It has a great texture and the flavor goes well with any protein. It actually has some Omega 3 and at only 25 calories a cup, it’s a near perfect food.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

